The Board

The MMA consists of a five member Board, each appointed by the Minister for Agriculture.


Stephen McArthur

MMA Chairman

Stephen was appointed MMA Chairman to the Board on 18 January 2014, having been a member of the Board from 14 June 2011. His appointment as Chairman is for a period of 3 years.


Stephen has a background in agriculture and construction, with experience over many years on both private and public sector boards. Steve was the Member for Monbulk 1992-2002, the Shadow Minister for Agriculture 2000-2002 as well as Shadow Minister for Water Resources 1999-2002.


Gisela Marven

Board Member

Gisela was originally appointed to the Board on 14th June 2011 for a term of 3 years. She was reappointed on 31 January 2016 for another 3 years.

Gisela has 40 years’ experience in the chicken meat industry, including farming, hatching, feed production, processing and sales along with holding the position of President for the Chicken Meat Council (State) and Chicken Meat Federation (Federal). Gisela was also a Councillor and Shire President for Lilydale Council (major fruit growing area) and a Board Member with VFITC (Victorian Food Industry Training Council) for 15 years.


images description

Russell Cooper

Board Member

Russell was appointed to the Board on 18 January 2014 for a period of 3 years.


Russell was Managing Director of Goulburn Murray Water, supplying irrigation water to fruit and vegetable growers in Northern Victoria and Managing Director for SUEZ, responsible for the waste (Sita) and water (Degremont) businesses in Australia. Earlier, he was Managing Director of South East Water in Melbourne. Russell has been a Non-Executive Director of Murrumbidgee Irrigation, the CRC for Irrigation Futures, Irrigation Australia and Western Water.

Bill Lewis

Board Member

Bill was appointed to the Board on 18 January 2014 for a period of three years.

Bill has been a Director of The Australian Institute of Agricultural Science and Technology.  He is a consultant in the agri-food industry, having been involved in the management of a number of large scale, major brand food companies, handling fruit, vegetables and milk for the Australian and international market.

He has considerable experience in risk management, logistics, workplace and food safety as well as major projects including relocation, new technologies, in a culturally diverse environment.


Sue FriendSue Friend

Board Member

Sue was appointed to the Board on 31 January 2016 for a period of 3 years.

Sue is a Chartered Accountant who has a background in forensic accounting, risk assessment and business valuations.  She currently works as a consultant to Sapere Research Group, a global expert services firm where she provides accounting advice to legal and regulatory clients.  Sue is a Director of Yarra Valley Water and an independent audit committee member of Municipal Association Victoria.

For all enquiries call 03 9258 6100

8AM - 4PM, MON - FRI